Planning Commission

PC and Appeals Ad
Meeting Schedule
  • The Planning Commission meets on the second Thursday of the month, at 7 pm, in the Jackson County Courthouse.

Commission Membership

The Planning Commission consists of seven members who serve staggered terms of three years. The current membership of the Planning Commission is as follows:

Term Expiration Date
Willard Wilson (Chair)
December 31, 2024
Jonathan Wimer (Member)
December 31, 2025
Ginger Rodvelt (Member)
December 31,2023
Steven Willett (Member)
December 31, 2023
Delbert Boling (Member)
December 31, 2025
Marje Cochren (Member)
December 31, 2023
Victoria Gilliland (Member)
December 31, 2024
Commission Functions

As established by Home Rule Resolution, the primary functions of the Planning Commission include:
  • Prepare and update plans showing the physical development of the county and the conservation of natural resources;
  • Develop and maintain a Comprehensive Plan for the County;
  • Prepare and make recommendations to the County Commission for the adoption of zoning and subdivision regulations and other regulatory tools designed to implement the long-term strategies of the Comprehensive Plan;
  • Review all proposals for the subdivision of land within unincorporated Jackson County for conformance to specified standards; and,
  • Review all proposals for amendments to the Zoning Regulations and making recommendations to the County Commission.